

April 29, 2016, 10:54 am

Republicans who vow to never back Trump

By Haley Britzky, Luke Barr and Andrew Dunn



Getty Images

A number of prominent Republicans are vowing to never back **Donald Trump** even as he closes in on the GOP presidential nomination.

The "Never Trump" ranks include lawmakers, party operatives, pundits and GOP donors — and the movement even sparked a popular hashtag on social media.

They are convinced Trump as standard-bearer would lead the GOP to a devastating defeat in November, costing the party the Senate and potentially the House.

The real estate mogul, though, is marching ahead, and now has 994 of the 1,237 delegates needed to capture the nomination, according to the Associated Press.

And there are growing signs many in the GOP establishment are warming to Trump. He's been endorsed by 11 lawmakers, with others regularly attending Capitol Hill meetings with his staff. Trump has also declared himself the "presumptive nominee."

Republican National Committee (RNC) Chairman Reince Priebus has criticized the Never Trump movement as well. "It is essential to victory in November that we all support our candidate," Priebus said at the RNC's spring meeting.

Trump's opponents are focused on trying to deny him the delegates needed to secure the nomination in hopes of forcing a contested convention in July.

Here's a list of Republicans who won't back Trump as nominee.

Rep. Justin Amash (Mich.)

Gov. Charlie Baker (Mass.)

Glenn Beck, radio host

Michael Berry, radio host

Max Boot, former foreign policy adviser to Sen. Marco Rubio (R-Fla.)

Brent Bozell, conservative activist

Jay Caruso, RedState

Mona Charen, senior fellow at Ethics and Public Policy Center

Eliot Cohen, former George W. Bush official

Former Sen. Norm Coleman (Minn.)

1 of 3 4/30/2016 6:40 PM

Rep. Carlos Curbelo (Fla.)

Steve Deace, radio host

Rep. Bob Dold (III.)

Erick Erickson, writer

David French, writer at National Review

Jon Gabriel, editor-in-chief, Ricochet.com

Jonah Goldberg, writer

Rep. Richard Hanna (N.Y.)

Doug Heye, former RNC communications director

Ben Howe, RedState writer

Former Rep. Bob Inglis (S.C.)

Cheri Jacobus, GOP consultant and former Hill columnist

Robert Kagan, former Reagan official

Randy Kendrick, GOP mega-donor

Matt Kibbe, former FreedomWorks CEO

Rep. Adam Kinzinger (R-III.)

Bill Kristol, The Weekly Standard editor

Mark Levin, radio host

Dana Loesch, radio, TV host and writer

Kevin Madden, former Mitt Romney aide

Tucker Martin, former Gov. Bob McDonnell's (R-Va.) communications director

Former RNC Chairman Mel Martínez (Fla.)

Liz Mair, GOP strategist

David McIntosh, Club for Growth president

Ken Mehlman, former RNC chairman

Tim Miller, Our Principles PAC

Katie Packer, chairwoman of Our Principles PAC

Former Gov. George Pataki (N.Y.)

Former Rep. Ron Paul (Texas)

Katie Pavlich, Townhall editor and Hill columnist

Brittany Pounders, conservative writer

Rep. Reid Ribble (Wis.)

The Ricketts family, GOP mega-donors

Former Gov. Tom Ridge (Pa.)

Rep. Scott Rigell (Va.)

Mitt Romney, 2012 GOP presidential nominee

Jennifer Rubin, Washington Post conservative blogger

Sarah Rumpf, former BreitBart contributor

Mark Salter, writer and former aide to John McCain

Rep. Mark Sanford (S.C.)

Sen. Ben Sasse (Neb.)

2 of 3 4/30/2016 6:40 PM

Elliott Schwartz, Our Principles PAC

Tara Setmayer, CNN analyst and former GOP staffer

Ben Stein, actor and political commentator

Stuart Stevens, former Romney strategist

Paul Singer, GOP mega-donor

Charlie Sykes, radio host

Brad Thor, writer

Connor Walsh, former digital director for former Rep. Eric Cantor (R-Va.)

Former Rep. J.C. Watts (Okla.)

Peter Wehner, New York Times contributor

Former Gov. Christine Todd Whitman (N.J.)

Rick Wilson, Republican strategist

Please send feedback, updates on this list to mmali@thehill.com.

This story was updated at 4:32 p.m.

TAGS: Donald Trump, Scott Rigell, Justin Amash, Eric Cantor, Reid Ribble, John McCain, Marco Rubio

The Hill 1625 K Street, NW Suite 900 Washington DC 20006 | 202-628-8500 tel | 202-628-8503 fax
The contents of this site are ©2016 Capitol Hill Publishing Corp., a subsidiary of News Communications, Inc.

3 of 3 4/30/2016 6:40 PM